Home » Awards » College » Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy

Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy

The NSCAA administers the Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy, the highest individual award presented to a player in intercollegiate soccer. The NSCAA's Division I College Services members serve as the official voting body for the Hermann Trophy.


In 1967, Robert Hermann, the president of the National Professional Soccer League (NPSL) and the Chairman of the Executive Committee of the NPSL's successor, the North American Soccer League, established a trophy to annually recognize the top men's collegiate soccer player. The trophy, named the Hermann Trophy, has been awarded each year since 1967. In 1988, a second Hermann Trophy was inaugurated to recognize the top women's collegiate player of the year.

In 1986, the Missouri Athletic Club (MAC) began naming an annual player of the year as a rival to the Hermann Trophy. Then in 1996, the NSCAA initiated its own annual player of the year award. These three competing awards began merging three years later when the NSCAA and MAC agreed to cooperate on naming a combined collegiate player of the year. Finally, beginning in 2002, the NSCAA, the Missouri Athletic Conference and the Hermann Trophy merged to create a unified award for the top college soccer player of the year.

The original Hermann Award Trophy is on display in the Hermann Atrium located in the McDonnell Athletic Center at MICDS in Ladue, Mo.

Selection Process

Today, the process of selecting a winner begins at the start of the college soccer season when a list of potential nominees is compiled by a nominating committee. Near the end of the collegiate regular season, 15 players whom the committee considers the best in Division I soccer are announced as semifinalists for the award. That list is then voted on through an online voting process by men's and women's Division I soccer coaches whose teams are current NSCAA College Services members.

In early December, the top three vote-getters for both the men's and women's trophy are announced as finalists for the award. These six individuals are invited to an annual banquet held at the Missouri Athletic Club of St. Louis. That evening, the winners of the two awards are announced and receive a 10 pound crystal replica soccer ball made by Tyrone Crystal of County Tyrone, Northern Ireland.

Hermann Trophy (Men)

Year Hermann Trophy MAC Player of the Year NSCAA Player of the Year
2015 Jordan Morris (Stanford)
2014 Leo Stolz (UCLA)
2013 Patrick Mullins (Maryland)
2012 Patrick Mullins (Maryland)
2011 Andrew Wenger
2010 Darlington Nagbe
2009 Teal Bunbury
2008 Marcus Tracy
2007 O'Brian White
2006 Joseph Lapira
2005 Jason Garey
2004 Danny O'Rourke
2003 Chris Wingert
2002 Alecko Eskandarian
2001 Luchi Gonzalez Luchi Gonzalez
2000 Chris Gbandi Ali Curtis
1999 Ali Curtis Sasha Victorine
1998 Wojtek Krakowiak Jay Heaps Dema Kovalenko
1997 Johnny Torres Johnny Torres Daniel Hernandez
1996 Mike Fisher Mike Fisher Mike Fisher
1995 Mike Fisher Matt McKeon  
1994 Brian Maisonneuve Todd Yeagley  
1993 Claudio Reyna Claudio Reyna  
1992 Brad Friedel Claudio Reyna  
1991 Alexi Lalas Alexi Lalas  
1990 Ken Snow Ken Snow  
1989 Tony Meola Tony Meola  
1988 Ken Snow Ken Snow  
1987 Bruce Murray John Harkes  
1986 John Kerr John Kerr  
1985 Tom Kain    
1984 Amr Aly    
1983 Mike Jeffries    
1982 Joe Ulrich    
1981 Armando Betancourt    
1980 Joe Morrone    
1979 Jim Stamatis    
1978 Angelo DiBernardo    
1977 Billy Gazonas    
1976 Glenn Myernick    
1975 Steve Ralbovsky    
1974 Farrukh Quarishi    
1973 Dan Counce    
1972 Mike Seerey    
1971 Mike Seerey    
1970 Al Trost    
1969 Al Trost    
1968 Manuel Hernandez    
1967 Dov Markus    

Hermann Trophy (Women)

Year Hermann Trophy MAC

Player of the Year


Player of the Year

2015 Raquel Rodriguez (Penn State)
2014 Morgan Brian (Virginia)
2013 Morgan Brian (Virginia)
2012 Crystal Dunn (North Carolina)
2011 Teresa Noyola
2010 Christen Press
2009 Kelley O'Hara
2008 Kerri Hanks
2007 Mami Yamaguchi
2006 Kerri Hanks
2005 Christine Sinclair
2004 Christine Sinclair
2003 Cat Reddick
2002 Aly Wagner
2001 Christie Welsh Christie Welsh
2000 Anne Makinen Anne Makinen
1999 Mandy Clemens Mandy Clemens
1998 Cindy Parlow Cindy Parlow Danielle Fotopoulos
1997 Cindy Parlow Cindy Parlow Sara Whalen
1996 Cindy Dawes Cindy Dawes Jennifer Renola
1995 Shannon MacMillan Shannon MacMillan  
1994 Tisha Venturini Tisha Venturini  
1993 Mia Hamm Mia Hamm  
1992 Mia Hamm Mia Hamm  
1991 Kristine Lilly Kristine Lilly  
1990 April Kater April Kater  
1989 Shannon Higgins Shannon Higgins  
1988 Michelle Akers Michelle Akers